Alleppey, Kannur win Kerala Premier League matches

Kaddas-Twin Info Alleppey Ripples and Dunes Cuisine Kannur Verrans have secured wins in the Kerala Premier League season three group matches at the ICC Academy Grounds on Friday.

While Alleppey beat Thumbay Kasargod Leopards by eight wickets, Kannur clinched a two-wicket victory over Rufi Calicut Zamorins. Irfan Hajee picked up three wickets for 18 to star in Alleppey’s win, while Kannur secured their victory thanks to Naveed Saleem who took three wickets for 37.

Alleppey Ripples beat Thumbay Kasargod Leopards by eight wickets.

Alleppey Ripples beat Thumbay Kasargod Leopards by eight wickets.

Kasargod which won the toss and elected to bat first managed only 91 in the 20 overs. Opener Salim Malik was the top scorer with 23 runs from 16 balls with five hits to the fence. Farvaz scored a 14-ball 19 with the help of two fours and one six. Hajee operated a superb spell and picked up three wickets for 18 runs from just 2.3 overs.

Fayyaz Ahmed was impressive as well by taking two for 10 from four overs. Habib Ghazi took two wickets from his two overs while giving away 14 runs. Misbah Khan and Aneesh took one wicket each to complete a good bowling performance for Alleppey.

Though Alleppey lost their opener Ghazi for a duck, the other opener Babbar Malik hammered three fours and three sixes to score 34 from just 14 balls. Even after the fall of Malik, Shehzad Malik in the company of Aneesh guided Alleppey to victory in just 7.3 overs. Malik smashed two fours and four sixes in his 12-ball 35, while Aneesh added 18 with the help of two boundaries.

The other match was a close one with Kannur clinching a two-wicket victory after chasing 138 in 18.5 overs. Calicut which batted first reached 137 for six in 20 overs thanks to a 16-ball 46 from lower order batsman Fahad Al Hashmi. Calicut top order batsmen failed to make a big contribution but their lower order batsmen helped them post a competitive total. Adil Farooq and Hashmi added some useful runs towards the end with the former contributing 24 from 26 balls with two fours and one six. Hashmi hammered three fours and five sixes in his 16-ball knock.

Saleem picked up three for 37 from his four overs while Sulthan Ahmed, Mohammad Irfan and Rizwan Rauf took one wicket each. While chasing opener Prashant Braggs gave a quick start to Kannur by scoring a 14-ball 22 with the help of one boundary and two sixes. Later Rizwan Sadiq and Salman Baber added some useful runs towards the end to ease the pressure of Kannur.

Justin James did a good job by picking up three wickets for 25 from his 2.5 overs. Nashwan Nazir bagged two, while Noor-Ul-Amin, Hashmi and Fahad Tariq took one each.

Mashood CTK and Sanjewa were the not out batsmen when Kannur reached the target in 18.5 overs.

KPL, which offers Dh250,000 as prize money, is being held under the collaboration of Dubai Cricket Council. The tournament is sponsored by the CSS Group.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.